The Dark Light of Day by T.M. Frazier

 

After all, we all have darkness within us.
Some of us more than others.

I don’t know if to give this book five stars for Magnificent, or one for TOODANGMUCH

The book stars slow, with a semblance of your regular dark novella.. But as you go on you find yourself with an event that makes you loose all faith in humanity. Period. I knew it was going to be dark, but those twists just, plain, fuck you up in the head and in your heart.

Bout The Book:
This is the story of a broken girl, destroyed mentally spiritually and physically by the hands of her own parents and other happenings in her life. She can’t even stand touch from other people because it burns her.
The things she has gone through are straight out of some sick nightmare.

And how along her way, a path marred by awful events, she meets this blue eyed badboy Jake.

Jake, a boy strongly wronged by his father, but more than that: a person, a guy, a man, who decided to be a killer. Not so much in the romantic I-have-a-twisted-hero-complex variety, but more in the It-makes-me-feel-good-to-kill-bastards sense.

I fell asleep that night in the arms of a killer. I’d never slept better.

The perfect portrait of Jake and Abby
description

(I took this image from the SmittensBookClub, they have nothing to do with my review)

Sick, twisted Abby was in love with the sick, twisted, beautiful Jake.

They have this instant connection you should be aware of. They belong.
On normal instances this is a big let down, but put yourself in their messed up shoes, and it’s understandable. It kinda fits. It makes sense.

We were just us. Broken and bruised. Fucked up and messy. And together we were everything we never thought we could be. We didn’t need sweet and gentle. I didn’t need to be coddled.
I needed Jake, and he gave himself to me just as I gave myself to him.

There are many matters in this book worth thinking about on your own and analyzing. But the main query is always:

How could broken plus broken ever equal whole?
I don’t know how. But is does.

And I should also point out, that for me this book was more about Abby and her life, what she goes through, how she deals, how she loves, how she fights, how she’s so, so strong. Her romance with Jake is like icing on a cake, a necessary up point, he’s an interesting character that gives her strength and at times reinforces her.
But over all, I feel like this is the story of how Abby, the girl from the wrong side of life, finds there is light in darkness.

~~
As I am writing this review I have to sacrifice several of my comments and thoughts in order to advise you, that if you think your heart can take it, do it. Grab this in the comfort of a secluded place in your house where you can cry and die without disruption and experience all that is Abby’ life.
It isn’t pretty, it doesn’t really give you much hope, the heartache gets deep, but in some twisted sick way sometimes we need this sort of book (like once a year) for our personal growth. To be thankful. To be aware. To feel.

After all,
Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.

Is there a happy ending, at least, you may be wondering?
Maybe..

I have to say:
Had I known what I know now would I have read it a first time again?
Yes. 
But, now that I did, will I pick it up again?
No.
Will I ever pick up another book from this author? 
Probably, but very carefully.

Leave a Reply

