Broken by Megan Hart

This is the first review I have made, but I feel I have to.
See, this is not my typical kind of reading. I don’t even know why I started it, and quite frankly a couple of times while I read I found me mad at myself for even beginning -and, not being able to stop. Because, you can not put down the book no matter how many internal battles you are fighting against the characters, the author or yourself.
This is the kind of book that tests your principles by making you fight with yourself so you won’t look for spoilers reviews or simply reading the last pages.
The kind of books that brings you every kind of tear and awakens so many emotions you feel as exhausted as Sadie.

I’ll give you a little this is what it is about:
Sadie had a happy, rocky marriage with Adam. Then, four years ago, he had an accident from which he left being quadriplegic. She still loves him, he loves her too. But they’re broken. The emotional and physical distance they have towards each other makes her end up finding refuge in the stories Joe tells her.

See, if I read what I just wrote I wouldn’t read it since I hate love triangles. But I can not even began to explain how much more it is behind this story. It’s a real, layered, powerful, complicated story that wraps your mind and soul so much around it, it leaves you breathless. And, well, broken.

The author made such an incredible work at making this believable, honest, and yet somehow endearing despite the ugliness of it all that I have to hand it to her. Although I don’t think I’ll be reading any other of her books, unless I feel like finding a reason to be miserable.

About the characters
See, I didn’t find my self fond of Adam. I understood him, I knew why he acted the way he did, but I didn’t like him all that much. Only a few times was I able to relate to the love Sadie had for him -not that I didn’t feel it throughout the book, though.
Joe, on the other hand, I loved. Even if I hated him once for a sanctuary-rape he did (you’ll understand if you read the book), even if I didn’t understand why I liked him so much since you’re not really given a  this is Joe. But, fortunately, he proved I have good instincts.
Sadie on the other hand was me. I don’t know how Megan did it, but she made me be Sadie even when I wouldn’t have acted as she did, or if I didn’t agree with her in some stuffs; I ended up being a character in the book too. And I hated it, as much as I loved it.
I hated it because it’s a sad story, really, for me it is. But you get to go through such a complex journey, that you end up getting caught up in it and in the end, consider it beautiful.

I often make pros and cons for the books I read, but I couldn’t do it with this one. For me, it would have been a 1 star, I HATE THIS BOOK, and all sorts of negativity towards the book and the author have I not read the very last page. Not that it was a bad book, but I needed that ending so I didn’t find myself soul-truly-BROKEN, which I never appreciate. You do have to know, it is not an erotic reading, the sexual scenes are perfectly well adequate and are done with taste(not that I didn’t find them really sensual). It is not a romance novel either, not a sweet story and not a happy one. It’s pure drama, I believe. Although if you manage to get through it, you’ll find hope.

It feels so much as a real story that I would just say book instead of novel. I bitter-loved this book!

There’s a song I’ve loved since like forever, and when I was reading this book I couldn’t keep it out of my head. In fact, the lyrics are so adequate for the book -from page one ’till the very last- that I couldn’t believe it. Here’s the best way to know how this book feels, and what it is about:
Lifehouse, Broken.

The broken clock is a comfort, it helps me sleep tonight
Maybe it can stop tomorrow from stealing all my time
And I am here still waiting though I still have my doubts
I am damaged at best, like you’ve already figured out

Chorus: I’m falling apart, I’m barely breathing
With a broken heart that’s still beating
In the pain there is healing
In your name I find meaning

The broken locks were a warning you got inside my head
I tried my best to be guarded, I’m an open book instead
And I still see your reflection inside of my eyes
That are looking for purpose, they’re still looking for life

Chorus

So I’m holdin’ on, (I’m still holdin’)
I’m holdin’ on, (I’m still holdin’) x2
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

I’m hanging on another day
Just to see what you will throw my way
And I’m hanging on to the words you say
You said that I would, would be ok

The broken lights on the freeway left me here alone
I may have lost my way now, haven’t forgotten my way home

Chorus.
So I’m holdin’ on, (I’m still holdin)x3
I’m barely holdin’ on to you
I’m holdin’ on (I’m still holdin’) x3
I’m barely holdin’ on to you

Leave a Reply

