Crash by Nicole Williams

I have so much to say about this book, I’m not gonna say much. Or maybe I will. I can’t know right about now since I’m suing all gods available for being a year overdue on delivering me a Jude. But anyway..

This is the story of Lucy, a 17 year old girl who’s set on saving the world, but nothing too philantropic, she’s just a good girl with a witty mouth. And Jude, a hot bad, bad boy, who’s heart is so to-melt-for you’ll be getting warm feelings for him all through this book.
Basically it’s all about them finding their ways to cope with the other while being at high school and while bearing heavy problems from their past. She’s not the typical to-slap-for girlfriend who gives him hell about his temper, actually it was a pro for me how she handles him.
For Jude, is all about doing better and being better to deserve her, melting our poor-neglected-of-such-love-hearts in the process.
He messes up, and I know I should’ve not liked several things he did, BUT I DID NOT, I LOVE JUDE AND EVERYTHING ABOUT HIM.

I had a few issues with this book though.
First, Lucy.
I get her antagonism towards school bull, totally agree with her, but then, she let’s hall-rumours get to her. What’s up with that? And she doesn’t like this cheerleader girl, but she’s her closest girlfriend. Not cool. And depending on her status with Jude, she doesn’t tolerate or all but jumps Sawyer. NOT, freaking, ok. But well, I managed. In fact, I didn’t dislike Lucy, she made her way to my heart because well, even though I hated her at times during the book, we all make mistakes and even more so when your soul deep in such an intense relationship.(Not that I would know, you hearing me Zeus?)

Lucy gets this Jude, a hoot guy who upfront tells her he’s not good news. Stating things like this:
“The name’s Jude Ryder, since I know you’re all but salivating like a rabid dog to know, and I don’t do girlfriends, relationships, flowers, or regular phone calls. If that works for you, I think we could work out something special.”

But then, the guy in question, shows his true colours, the real man behind all the bad-boy pose, the heart behind the rough scarred exterior. And we start falling for him, as she does. Who wouldn’t when he says stuff like this:
About how much time they’ll be together: “something between one day at a time and forever” (…)
“I’ll be here, each day and every day on, as long as you want me to be”

Or a personal favorite: 
“Why, Jude? Why are you so damned determined that I need to have the best?” I asked, leaning forward. He lifted a shoulder, his eyes cast down. “Because, Luce. Because you’re the most important person in my life.” 

YEESS! And is not just the sweep you off your feet phrases, is what he does, how he is with her, he is just the epitome of what should be on the top of the *Bad boy to fall in love with*, or *Bad boy with the sweetest heart*, and related charts.

We get a really scary part, at least for me, in the beginning which shows us exactly how many shades of bad the world Jude comes from is. But they deal. At least in the beginning.
There’s a part tough, in this book I cannot get over with, and have to bring out: after claiming she believes in Jude and has his back, Lucy all but shoves it in his face and sends him packing about an incident that.. ok I’m spoiling the story. What you should know is that I hated that Lucy girl three times ’till 2090 in that moment (and others), BUT Jude, being the guy I fell in love with, doesn’t let her go easily, nope, letting her revindicate with me, and well, we get in a happy, sweet, entertaining and even interesting journey. But is not all pretty people, in fact, I should warn you my friends, this is one hell of a ride. It had cry moments, sappy times, pissed off moments, beautiful times, great moments, and a whole bunch of amazing highs and awfully rough lows and, whew! this is just one of those books that actually make you feel the whole thing. Well, at least it did it for me.

And then we have Sawyer. Oh, Sawyer. I won’t let you know ppl anything about this man, other than I HATE THAT CHARACTER AND I’D HIT HIM IF HE WAS REAL. There.

Those cons though, are minor compared to all the perfectness that is Jude Ryder. And just the book in it self, look, yes, it has things I didn’t like, but all in all, I loved it. Is all because of this reaching maturity age thing, that makes me realize that when a book makes me dislike someone strongly, or cry my heart out for the author unfairness, etcetera, bottom line is it made me feel, and that’s what this all reading thing is for me: an alternate believable wonderful reality. It didn’t hurt though having that HEA thrown at me.
Therefore, the 5 stars and the shadows that’ll be under my eyes tomorrow, since there is no way I won’t start the second Crash in a few minutes.

Another quote I loved: Humility was a good thing, but being a martyr was as bad as believing you were god’s gift. I was done with the routine 
And a heart crushing epic one: You can’t be friends with the person you were meant to spend your life with

Leave a Reply

