Aside

Clash by Nicole WIlliams

I don’t even know if I liked this book, so I’m gonna write a bit about it and then see how many stars I’ll give it.

*THIS REVIEW MAY OR MAY NOT CONTAIN SPOILERS; CONSIDER YOUR PRYING LITTLE CURIOUS EYES WARNED.*

The first 50% of this book was good, they love each other, we see some of the problems they’re enduring, they bicker, they get jealous, they miss-communicate, but they work it out. Cool. Up until then a solid 4 stars for me. And then, all kinds of madness comes along. Lucille, the girl who is the leading female in this book and whom I disliked so badly from 58% to 93% of the book, I think that’s all I’ll remember her for, started not only making not only all the mistakes she already made and swore wouldn’t do again, but she also does it so profoundly, is a wonder her feet didn’t land in China.
I won’t tell you what happens to trigger half of this book, but I’ll tell you what: you do not handle things the way she did. Sure, at first you’re pissed and all, and still I don’t agree, but whatever everyone has their own ways of coping; what I cannot condone is all the heartbreak she gave Jude, me, and if it is at all relevant after so much crap, hers too. It is frustrating, it makes no sense in my head (ok maybe a little but her over-dramatic ways of thinking and her over-the-top-wrong ways of acting, I dont’t get).
What I feel like is that this author created such a perfect male specimen, she forgot to give something to Lucille too. You see, I don’t feel like she is worth of all that Jude Ryder is. Don’t get me wrong, they are both pretty flaw-full, but in terms of deserving the other based on their actions wise, nope, she does not get my forgiveness.
What I could not believe (Well, there were several things) is that I even found myself hoping Jude would tell her to piss off before the HE! I wanted her to work hard for the HEA, I wanted to feel like she earned it, but she didn’t in my eyes, and that sucks, because I still feel like at the slightest bump, she wouldn’t only fall, but she’ll drag Jude down with her, punch him in the head with the rock while telling him she still loves him, run before he gets a chance to go after her, and then come back and say she’s sorry and she won’t do it again. I was left feeling like she should have suffer a taste of her own medicine, I don’t hate her, I just don’t support the ways she acted(and yes, I remember she is a fictional character).
It was a good attempt for an ending, and book for that matter, but I liked the story so much (Idk why but I got so into it I burst out crying several times) I feel it somehow got ruined.
This is just my opinion. I wouldn’t say I “liked” the book per see, but I liked Jude enough, even though I felt he was getting played and I actually saw him somewhat weaker because of all the crap he took from her. It’s just that I don’t think is right the way she handled things! (Yes, I’m going back to it) You’re confused (about the stupidest of reasons), you talk to him, try to get his point of view and him yours, and try to reach an agreement, stick to it, if after working it out you still need space, fine take it, but try first! And don’t drag him along! And for christ sake if you need space from someone like Jude then at least pick a good reason! That sweet boy in Jude’s game couldn’t have had say it better:
“Mom told me that love is like a seed. You’ve got to plant it to grow. But that’s not all. You need to water it. The sun needs to shine just enough, but not too much. The roots have to take hold,” he continued, narrowing his eyes in concentration. “And from there, if it pops its head above the surface, there are about a million things that could kill it, so it takes a whole lot of luck too.”
I’m off to sleep with a bitter-sweet taste in my heart thanks to this book, I’m giving it 3stars because I couldn’t love it and 4 seems like I’ll be rewarding having my poor feelings punched at without reason. 3 seems fine, neutral, and fair right now. Then again, I may change it tomorrow and give it one, or realize I should be mature and accept life happens and shit does too and give it five. Who knows..

Other quotes I loved (There were several):

“Everything means something. Whether we want to admit it to ourselves or not.”

“Love is what brings you together, Lucy. But it’s the blood, sweat, and tears of hard work that keeps you together,” she began, choosing her words carefully. “Love isn’t only love, sweetheart. It’s hard work, and trust, and tears, with even a few glimpses of devastation. But at the end of each day, if you can still look at the person at your side and can’t imagine anyone else you’d rather have there, the pain and heartache and the ups and downs of love are worth it.”

OH! Yeah, And I DI-ED three times plus went trough two trips to hell, when I read this:
I just wanted you to know I’d be chasing after you right now, naked if need required it. But because I’m respecting your need for time and space, I’ll force myself to lie here in bed and pretend I’m asleep.
I think I’m never forgetting this phrase. God Lucille, shame on you woman!

Leave a Reply

