Reflected in You , Sylvia Day. Crossfire series #2

“The simple fact was, Gideon and I were the best and worst things that had ever happened to each other.” Eva

It seems impossible to review this book properly. The feelings it awakes in you are too raw and real to even put them into words. This is a book that wraps you so tight around it, you’ll be gasping for breath while you’re willingly drowning along with the characters. 

My advice: Read Bared To You first. It gives enough clarification so as not to need to do it, but I still feel is crucial you start this romance from the beginning.

“‘You hit me the instant I saw you,’ he said gruffly. ‘I couldn’t look away. I wanted you immediately. Excessively. Almost violently’. ” Gideon

Gideon and Eva are both former sexual abuse victims. The consequences of their horrible experiences have left them with some severe emotional and psychological damage. In the first book we get to see how these two embodied to perfection the meaning of phrases like “meant to be”, “obsessed with each other”, “love at first sight”, “co-dependent relationship”, and others. On this one, we have it back, only this time we have two broken characters that fight to stay together despite of everything, even themselves. The issues with their past are dealt differently by the two, and essentially is their different way of copping with their demons what threatens to tear them apart or ultimately destroy them.

The only thing they have in common is the ever present need to make love, fuck, have sex. But while Eva talks about her issues openly, Gideon remains silent, and that makes them hurt and is the most significant issue in the whole book. He hurts for not being able to open up. She does because though she trusts him explicitly, she does need to know him better, to be left inside. 

“Sex was how he showed me what he was feeling. He could say with his body what he couldn’t with words, and my lust for him was how I proved my faith in us, something he needed to feel connected to me” 

I find it impossible to describe their fundamental “need” for the other. Luckily for you, Sylvia Day does an exceptional job making you understand it. And it feels so real, you end up crying the tears Eva or Gideon shed. It is so agonizingly hurtful for one to be not only your partner’s salvation, but their downfall too. So you get one hell of a journey while they try to solve their problems while other await and surface.

It is impossible not to get in too deep with this story, but it was definitely the end what left me after I finished reading it -still am- feeling like a chunk of me was put on hold until the 3rd book is released.

 

THIS BOOK IS WORTH OF EVERY APPRAISAL EVER MADE TO IT.

The writing, was perfect for me. The character’s development too. The story, the way things moved along, how they are in their own way open with the other, the rawness of their feelings, the every-single-second I spent reading it, every tiny thing was perfect for me.

I don’t know if I was the only one to get so wrapped around in it, I don’t really care either to be honest. I can only say I LOVED IT, I LOVED IT, I LOVED IT.

 

I wrote this review several months ago on GoodReads , but since I’m on to the next one I felt like posting it here. Hope you try it out and share with me how you felt about it! xo

Leave a Reply

