Killing Sarai by J.A. Redmerski

This story.
Is not one about romance. Is one about survival, resilience, strength under atrocious circumstances. Is a bout a girl copping with her new self after being so long under captivity; and a man, a merciless one at that, who finds he does have a heart after all. 

Sarai, a 23 year old who since the age of fourteen has been mentally and sexually abused by a demented mexican drug lord. A girl who was forced to become a woman too early, and not only a woman, but one who has nothing to loose nor fear. A woman who would do anything and everything to stay alive, and whose past has made her immune to fear or danger.
description
“She has seen too much, experienced too much. She shows all the signs of having lost the ability to react to fear and danger appropriately. She is numb to danger and that in itself is a death sentence” Victor.

Victor, a killer. A ruthless and efficient one. A man of few words, who only acts out fast and effectively. He trusts no one, and Sarai is no exception. She’s just the “girl” that’ll guarantee he gets his pay. 

description
“Like it or not, Victor is my only protection until I can get over that border and I’m going to stick with him for as long as I can regardless of my desperate need to get away from him, too.”Sarai.

Except things are not as easy as two labels. He’s not just a killer, she’s not just the traumatized runaway. These two, they are a world of depth and it wont be long until you’re right along with them, trying to escape, trying to decide, trying not to cry, failing, trying not to scream, trying not to feel, trying to block out that such a world exists. 

– “I don’t kill innocent people.”
Silence fills the small space between us.
– “No one is innocent,” I snap, surprising myself. “Least of all me. For years I let that disgusting murderer violate me and I never said no. I sat back and watched in silence as he and his men and that bitch sister of his beat and raped and sold the girls I became close to. I did nothing. I never screamed or fought back or stood up for any of them. Not a single one. (…) I am not innocent!” I roar.

Sarai is no innocent-delicate flower, just as Victor is not as heartless as he likes to think he is. But for all intents and purposes she does loose most of her innocence in front of our eyes, and he does act the part of the unmovable assassin for most the book. 

Two souls who could never be together, but who find solace in their shared loneliness.

—.—

There is no possible way to capture everything you go trough as a reader while having this book in your hands, just know that is as captivating as it gets. You go from angry to sad to content to hopeful to desolate right along with Sarai and Victor, and cannot help but feel overly-attached with the characters (I can’t stress that enough!).

This story is filled with too much everything in every right possible way. Is Brilliant. I believe, a masterpiece. A story that’ll stick to you. And even though it has no cliffhanger perse, you’ll be dying just as I am for the sequel. 

I COMPLETELY LOVED IT.

 

–.—-.–

I cannot say how proud I am of this author, btw; such a change in genres and yet she marvelously nailed them both. I never though by reading The Edge Of Never that I would get something like this from J.A., but I’m truly glad, and I just hope she sits down and delivers many, many more books like either of them (.❤ preferably both)

Leave a Reply

