Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

I started this book on the quest for a hot bad college guy..
Boy did I go wrong!
Boy do I abso-effing-lutely do not regret it!!..
Wanna know what it is about?

Start of College. An innocent girl carying a heavy loss. A golden boy carying a heavy load. Helplessness. Beautifulness. Trying. Deep, gorgeous souls. Love. Wisdom. FEELINGS.

Oh, but I know you care
I know it is always been there
But there is trouble ahead I can feel it
You were just saving yourself when you hide it
Yeah I know you care
I see it in the way you stare
As if there was trouble ahead and you knew it
I’ll be saving myself from the ruin ..

 

That's mostly all about this book. 
Except there is so much more.
I mean, THE FEELS.

“Every time you close your eyes, regardless of where I am or where you are, I want you to remember this.” His fingers laced with mine and then he pressed my hand against my own chest. “Wherever I am, whatever I’m doing, alive or dead, young or old, my heart will always be with yours. Every beat you feel against your fingertips…” His finger tapped against my chest, once, twice. “…is me calling out to you. It’s you returning the call. It’s us talking, communicating, bonding, sharing. Living — Kiersten, it’s us living. There may come a time in your life when your heart will have to beat for mine… but you’ll have to carry on if I can’t. Just like there may come a time when I have to do the same for you. But in the end, one of us will always carry on this.” He tapped again. “So there’s never a reason to be afraid of running out of time — because we keep our own.”

Do I need to say more?
Just do yourself a favor and go pick some tissues, make the time on your calendar, grab some hot cocoa, and immerse yourself in a story that both teaches you about life and yourself as it gives you warm and raw feelings without depressing you.
Wonderful work Rachel Van Dyken!

Leave a Reply

