At Peace by Kristen Ashley

It’ll be really hard to write a review of this book since it’s one of my favorite love stories ever, so I’ll just mostly tell you a bit about what it did to me. Lets see.

I’ll start with admitting I have it on my cellphone and every once in a while (actually, often) I’d find my self re-reading bits of it, my favorite ones and discovering new ones I love, or ones I didn’t remember and then I end up reading the whole thing again because it is completely worth reading a bunch of times. That, being said by someone who doesn’t re-read books even twice.

We have this long complicated, page turner, sleep depraving story. Vi has a stalker and since he killed her husband now she’s living in the ‘Burg with her two daughters. She is the neighbor of all things hot Joe Callahan (who is part huge, part hot, part super hot, part Italian, part broken). She gets on and off, and hot on and hot off again with him. Has cool people like Feb and Colt living down the street. Also she has a fling with sexy, sweet Mike. Her stalker keeps lurking around all through it. Her brother was an instant fall hard for me too. And a bunch and hundred other things that happen in this book. But mostly, for me, is about Joe falling for Vi and getting inside her, Kate and Keiry’s lives.

I am, to this day, madly in love with Joe Callahan. He is the epitome of alpha, embodiment of every sexual fantasy I’ve had, and he is essentially everything I wish for in a man. In fact I get utterly frustrated now when I read books and the heroes are often too much of a pussy (pardon my french). Yes, he is mostly a douchebag for half the book or so, but he had good reasons and he actually really felt deep for her. For me, it was easy to love him from the star despite his jerkness because KA gave us his POV and I got him, I really did even if I didn’t agree with how he acted.

Vi, well I can’t say I agree with many decisions she made, but I kinda got her and she was straight forward all along so I let most of them fly. Her kids, wow, made me want to have sisters. Joe, I love you. Bea and her husband, super sweet. Their story of Tim and Vi younger and building a family with their support brought tears to my eyes (well, most o this book did that to me, but just saying).

I don’t know what else can I say about this book. It is profoundly emotional, it wraps you tight around the characters and their lives, to a point where you feel like you are somehow a part of it too. It had many, many ups and downs. Sweet moments, sad ones, laugh at loud and want-to-moan-at-loud ones (ups), some where you want to rip people head’s off, and not one single page is boring or skippable. It is a contemporary romance book masterpiece.

A book that set unconscious standards for me, and now makes me struggle to like another love story.

If I could give it ten stars I would. LOVED IT!

Leave a Reply

